Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

What I’ve been up to August 27, 2008

A bit of knitting and a finished garment to show off. Its the tailored cardigan by drops design:

http://www.garnstudio.com/lang/en/visoppskrift.php?d_nr=97&d_id=18&lang=en

Knitted in Patons Washed Haze DK in ‘slate’. I like the yarn quite a lot, its an acrylic cotton mix but it doesn’t feel like a manmade yarn, very cotton like. Its not the ideal yarn for the pattern (which calls for Alpaca) but it worked out at the same tension. On reflection it should have been in a wool mix yarn but having said that I like the finished cardi. The pattern is not very well written, its translated into English and it doesn’t read like a British pattern. I think if I’d attempted this when I was a less experienced knitter I would have given up as the instructions are tricky to understand. The buttons were from Coats Crafts.

Anyway, the reason the knitting is slow is because I’ve been travelling around lots. I’ve been up to visit my boyfriend’s relatives on their farm, to Dublin with my Mum, to Cornwall to stay will relatives and also visiting other relatives in various places!

 

The river Liffey in Dublin

The ‘Temple Bar’ pub in Temple Bar, Dublin

Another pub, Temple Bar

Exterior view of Dublin Castle

Mevagissey, Cornwall

Mevagissey

Mevagissey

 

The sun setting through the trees, Farm in Lincolnshire.

These are some of my favourite pictures of the holiday. Despite the sunny looking pictures we got soaked most of the time in Dublin and Cornwall, its been a typical Bristsh Summertime again. I’m back to school next week and trying to get organised, I’m not back in ‘teacher’ mode yet and would like another six weeks off really!

Dublin was brilliant and I found it very easy to eat out as a Coeliac. Lots of places label their menu with GF food and those that didn’t knew what I was talking about when I explained about my condition and they were very flexible with adapting their menu. Dublin gets a big Coeliac thumbs up from me!

 

3 Responses to “What I’ve been up to”

  1. Vicky Says:

    I just spent the bank holiday weekend in Dublin. It’s a great place isn’t it? I guess you’re not able to drink Guinness though with your condition are you?

  2. No! I’m not allowed Guiness so my mum had a few for me! Thank god there is no Gluten in wine!!

  3. Lovely pics from your travels. I, too, spent holiday time in Ireland this summer without drinking a single Guinness. It can be done!!


Leave a Reply

