Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

Needle Felted Fairy Doll June 22, 2008

Filed under: crafts,felting,knitting,needle felting,ravelry,Uncategorized,wool,yarn — sleepknitting @ 2:11 pm

 This little lady is my latest attempt at needle felting, I’m very happy with her! I’ve learnt a lot from my mistakes on the alice doll and I’ve practised new techniques by looing at video tutorials on the internet. She has wings, is holding a crystal ball and has cute little ballet pumps. I found the hardest part was the fingers and the mouth. The face is hard to get right as just changing it by a few tiny details really alters the expression and personality of the doll. I’m quite keen on having a go at a larger doll next, the smaller dolls can be fiddly when you are working on the very tiny features. There are loads more pictures of the doll stage by stage on my Ravlery page (my ravelry ID is ‘sleepknitting’)

If anyone is looking at this an thinking it looks tricky then I would say its not as hard as it looks! there are loads of tutorials online and the materials are fairly cheap. I bought a huge bag of merino roving on ebay that should last for ages!

Some progress has been made on the ‘bottoms up’ top, but I’ve got to go and do my planning for school now so probably no knitting until this evening now.

 

Leave a Reply

