Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

Bubble Wrap socks finished at last March 9, 2008

blocking.jpg

front-and-profile.jpgclose-up-bubble.jpg

I made it my mission last night to finish these off…. and here they are!

Pattern: Bubble Wrap socks by Sockbug (knitted on two circulars)

Yarn: Opal Zircus (not sure of colourway)

It was a very easy pattern to follow and a really easy stitch pattern to memorise. I think the bubble wrap effect goes well with the opal yarn pattern, I was concerned that the stripes would be too much with it but I’m very happy with the finished result. The only change I made was in the way I worked on picking up the gusset stitches, the Sockbug pattern tells you to use a spare needle but I used the Cat Bordhi method of picking up half the stitches and knitting half the foot stitches onto each needle (does that make sense?) Anyway, a great pattern for the two circular method, I will definitely be trying out more Sockbug patterns in the future.

Now I’ve got these done I really must get back to my tunic top in James C Brett Marble, I have done the back and started the front but it got demoted to the bottom of the WIP pile in favour of the socks! I have to admit I am half tempted to cast on some more socks today though… my poor tunic top may never be finished!

 

4 Responses to “Bubble Wrap socks finished at last”

  1. Jominx Says:

    Really lovely socks, well done 😀

  2. Helen K Says:

    Hiya,
    I can’t believe how good those socks are, they’re amazing!!
    Good luck with your job hunting. I’m PGCE hunting at the moment and its not going successfully so far!
    xx

  3. princesspea Says:

    Gorgeous! The colours and the pattern work really well together!

  4. Dina Says:

    Oh my gosh! I think these are the nicest knitted socks I’ve ever seen! I’m blown away by the beautiful texture and changing colors.


Leave a Reply

