Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

The sun is shining and half term is here! February 9, 2008

posh-yarn.jpg

marble-swatch.jpg 

Yep, its a good feeling this morning, no school next week! I have really needed a break as work has become really stressful and we are all now facing redundancy in July; I have been looking but there hasn’t been one teaching post come up that suits me yet.

We are off this afternoon to stay with my boyfriend’s parents; they live on a beautiful farm out in the middle of nowhere in Lincolnshire. The farm house is very old with lots of lovely rooms with log burners and sleeping cats for sitting quietly and knitting; and that is exactly what I will be doing until Tuesday when we come home! I’ve given myself a break from the never ending socks and I’ve cast on a new project for half term; its the tunic top from Twilley Freedom Spirit book 455 (pictured above) I’m using James. C. Brett Marble DK for this pattern, which is a great substitute for Twilleys Freedon Spirit. I’m usually a bit of a snob about acrylic yarn and prefer natural fibres, but my mum bought some of this at the knitting show last year and I havew been seduced by all of the lovely projects using it on Ravelry. I bought it very cheaply for £1.45 per 100g balls (internet) so it didn’t break the bank. Its a very soft yarn whith a lovely subtle colour change, to though it its not immediately obvious that its a man-made fibre. Also pictured above is my tension swatch which shows the colours quite well.

I’ve also been naughty, I happened to find myself browsing the Posh Yarns website last sunday and I somehow bought this lovely sock yarn. Its ‘Laura’ 4ply sock yarn, 80% merino 20% cashmere, in colour ‘forget me not’. The lovely colours are not really shown up that well in this picture but its somewhere in between soft blue and mauve – yummy!

Right, I’ve got packing and washing up to this morning so I will be off now and back to blog-world on Tuesday next week. Happy knitting 🙂

 

4 Responses to “The sun is shining and half term is here!”

  1. Enjoy your break. I love your new stash…yum…purply-blue!

  2. Cheryl Says:

    Enjoy your knitting and have a nice time,my 2 are off school/college and i am planning on loads of knitting:)

  3. UK Swap Upstream Says:

    That’s going to be a lovely tunic-top. I really like the colourshift.

  4. Nicola Says:

    Hello. I’m new here. I was googling the Marble yarn, because I love it and wanted to decide which colour to use next, and I found your blog. The colour that you’re using for that top looks like the same one I used for my sweater http://fourfriendsandablog.blogspot.com/2007/02/sweater-is-finished-at-last.html
    I look forward to seeing how your knitting progresses.


Leave a Reply

