Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

Is this what a Coeliac has to look forward to? February 3, 2008

columbine-progress.jpg

Here is a peek at the progress I’m making on the columbine peak socks. This is my own version of ‘two at a time’ socks! I cast on two separate socks and then I worked the cuff on one, then the other, the leg on one, then the other and so on. I will actually get around to learning to knit two at once on the same needles eventually 🙂

lanark-stash.jpg

 This lovely lot is some recent purchases, I really can’t afford any new stash items but I just couldn’t help myself. There is a ball of Opal ‘zircus’ sock yarn which the bad light in this photo doesn’t do justice to! I now have plenty of sock yarn to keep me going until the end of the year, I don’t actually know when I will get around to knitting it all though! The other yarn is aran 100% wool from New Lanark http://www.newlanarkshop.co.uk/ And what a bargain it was too! Its fab stuff and so cheap I couldn’t quite believe it! I’ve got three 100g balls of each of the colours shown which are destined to be a felted bag. I ordered a shade card and a will no doubt be ordering a lot more from here.

I’ve been out and about this weekend (which is unusual for me as I am a ‘stay at home and knit’ person) On Saturday I didn’t go to the Birmingham Stitch and Bitch, insead I went to a meeting of the Solihull Coeliac Society. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I went with an open mind, hoping to learn more about the disease and meet others like me. It was at a church hall and I was very suprised at how many people where there; it wasn’t until I arrived there that it occured to me that I’ve never met another Coeliac in my life. Up until now its almost felt like my own disease, like I’m the only person who is unable to eat gluten, that might sound strange but I am always the odd one out of a group and it was bizarre to be amongst others with the same disease. Anyway, the general age of most of the people was 50+yrs with about five people (including myself) under 50! I felt very young when a woman was very excited to tell the group that Marks and Spencer sold gluten free suet! (I thought they stopped selling that in WW2!) I must have been the only gluten-free Pescetarian there so I sat and cringed at the talk of GF sausages and animal fats.

There was a cookery demonstration from ‘Glutafin’ who produce GF food and the people I get my prescription foods from. Just before the cook started she asked for a show of hands from people with Osteoporosis…. about 90% put up their hand…then she asked how many with Arthritis…. about 60% put their hands up… I turned to the girl next to me of a similar age to me and said “Is this what we’ve got to look forward to?” She looked about as worried as I did! the cookery demo was interesting, I stayed for a cup of tea and a gluten-free biscuit then got the bus home. I did have a good chat with the girl I sat next to who was very recently diagnosed and felt just as out of place as me I think.

I don’t think I will be going to another meeting, I didn’t really learn a lot and I was hoping to meet a lot more younger Coeliacs like myself. On the way home all I could think about was all those older people with Osteoporosis and Arthritis and wondering if that will be me in a few years with my walking stick moaning that I can’t get GF spam or something! I scared me right back into excercise; I’ve been to the gym this morning in the hope of getting some ‘weight-bearing’ excercise in. I’m still waiting for the results of my bone density scan.

I’m back at the hospital next week for a Coeliac outpatients appointment. I’m not sure what that involves, I hope I can see the dietician again but knowing my luck it will be more blood tests. I am very nervous about going because I REALLY don’t want to be sent for another gastroscopy, I do not want to go through that again. recently I seem to have had a relapse of my Coeliac symptoms and I have been quite poorly with it (I won’t go into the details!) I have had a good look at what I’m eating and I can’t find any evidence that I’m eating gluten by mistake; I’m also very thorough with avoiding contamination. I think it could be one of two things: it could be lactose intolerance, which would make sense as I’m eating more dairy to help prevent low bone density; or it could be that I am one of those Coeliacs who can’t tolerate any wheat (I’m talking about the ‘codex’ wheat which has had gluten extracted) If that is the case then I will have to change my prescription again. It is getting me down as I used to love cooking and eating out and I feel like they have been ruined now for me, I’m getting to the point where I’m scared of eating things as I know I will feel ill afterwards. When I got my diagnosis the Gastroenterologist did say that I may still have IBS symptoms that may not go away so it could be that; but I had hoped that once I had cut out the gluten I would start to feel healthier and more like a normal person.

Well, I will have to see what they say on Tuesday. Next week is going to be manic with work, I have meetings after school on four nights and we are all now looking for a job or facing redundancy as out school is now definitely closing in the summer. Probable not much knitting happening next week then!

 

4 Responses to “Is this what a Coeliac has to look forward to?”

  1. Lucy Says:

    I’m really hoping that osteoporosis isn’t inevitable for coeliacs.

    I have a suspicion that many of the older people at the meeting you went to may have been diagnosed later in life, and that they therefore have had more years of malnourishment than my daughter – and maybe you? – and are therefore at higher risk of osteoporosis.

    I try to be sure that she takes in a lot of calcium and does some weight-bearing exercise too, though this isn’t always very welcome! She had a bone age scan annually for a while (not bone density) to be sure that her bones had caught up the growth they lost before she was diagnosed.

    I hope your appointment goes OK, and that you find out the culprit soon … (and I’m very pleased to have been added to your blogroll – thank you!)

  2. gaile Says:

    it is extremely common for celiacs to be lactose intolerant. if you’re recently diagnosed, cut out all dairy for a while and let your body heal, then you may be able to add it back in slowly. can you see a naturopath? check the boards at celiac.com, as well as the millions of fantastic celiac cooking blogs out there. I think the under 40 group of us gets in touch a lot more online rather than in meetings in person. And with better diagnosis tools, a lot more are being found younger. be glad you were diagnosed before you developed the problems those elders did, you’ll not have to end up like them. Here’s my fave gf cooking blog –

    http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/

    worry not. there’s lots of us out here. you’ll be ok. make sure you have a doctor that really knows your disease. if not, you’ll be poked and prodded and thrown all sorts of wrong diagnoses I used to be told I had IBS too – funny how on a gf and dairy free diet, that never happens anymore. hang in there – it does get better!! feel free to email me if you want food ideas or just to chat.

  3. I love your socks. I, too, knit my two at a time this way. I like it, and have no real desire to “do it right”.

  4. Kris WW Says:

    I have to cook for a dairy free daughter, and we’re slowly switching over from carnivorous to mainly vegetarian food with the odd fish day thrown in to keep my eldest girl happy. It’s not easy and sometimes I’m wondering if there is much else we can eat apart from steamed veggies and rice.

    I do, however, love those socks 🙂 I wandered over here via Ravelry (KrisWW on there) and promptly went and bought some of that aran from New Lanark Shop. You should be on commission…

    Is there a good yarn store in Solihull? I shop there sometimes when visiting family, but rarely get further than Lakeland Ltd in the Touchwood centre. 😀


Leave a Reply

