Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

New Year and a big sort out January 1, 2008

Happy New Year!  – wow, where did 2007 go anyway?!

I’ve been having a new year clear out and a day of finishing off old WIP’s. My stash is now neatly ordered, organised and I have a good idea of what I want to make with the yarn I have. I have also sorted out a bag of yarn to sell, odds and ends and things I know I won’t use. Anyway, here are some of my finished things:

twilleys-tank-top-finished.jpgtank-top-blocking.jpg

This is the tank top made in Twilleys Freedom Spirit, all bloked and finished. I was a bit worried when I finished it as it seemed very small, but after a good wet blocking it was the perfect fit, and so snug! This is the first time that I’ve attempted to block a garment after I’ve sewn it up (I read that you could do this in the Stitch and Bitch book) and I’m impressed because it really did work ok. I fould it was easier than blocking two separate pieces and trying to get them to the same size!

I’ve still got 7 balls of this wool left, it was originally bought for the chevron jacket pattern (which I abandoned!) but I’m glad I did this instead, I think I will get more wear out of it. I’m considering making the tunic top or wrap cardi from the same pattern book. The only gripe I have with the wool is that it seems to lose so much dye when you handwash it -I put it in lukewarm water with a tiny bit of wool was and the water was deep red instantly! The top doesn’t seem to have lost its colour yet but after several washes, who knows?!?

ribbon-twist-hat.jpg

Here is yet another hat in Rowan Ribbon Twist, I had a spare ball to use up, the pattern is the hat with ear flaps in the Ribbon Twist book.

point-5-hat.jpg

This yummy coloured hat is made in Colinette point 5, I can’t recall the colourway though. Made with 100g following a Rowan pattern from ‘Big Just Got Bigger’. I have a cardigan I made about a year and a half ago in this wool, but I’m going to be brave and frog it, the colour and texture are lovely worn as accessories…. but the cardigan makes me look like a huge fuzzy monster from sesame street! I think I might make a felted bag with the frogged wool, or a scarf to go with the hat.

rowan-spray-beret-and-scarf.jpg

Talking of scarves and hats here is another set. I finished the beret a couple of weeks ago but I had some left over yarn for a matching scarf in Rowan Spay. The scarf knit up fast on my 20mm needles and is actually quite warm. This is a beautiful wool, it looks as though the yarn has been felted with a suble ‘spray’ of a pink colour on top. As you can see I have been into hats and scarves lately! I think it must be the cold weather.

I’m currently working on some baby things, a hat and maybe matching booties/mittens for a friend who is expecting. Then I’m planning to make a start on my Rowan Romance project, I got 13 balls in the John Lewis sale – bargain! I have promised the boyfriend a Gryffindor scarf, and I have to make my boyfriend’s mum the lace edged Patons cardi like I made for myself over the summer. Busy busy busy – there are so many other things I want to make too!

School is back next week so I have spent the day in front of my laptop instead of knitting (sigh!) I get spoilt over Christmas with loads of time to knit, then school goes back and I barely have time to do anything. Such is life.

I have been getting into Ravelry, not had time to photograph my stash yet though, it seems a vast website, what a fab idea!

 

4 Responses to “New Year and a big sort out”

  1. What a great bunch of FO’s! I love the tank and the beret set. Enjoy while you can, we all face less knitting time soon around here, too.

  2. Kazza Says:

    Hi Claire, looks like you’ve been busy! I popped along to the John Lewis sale too but I couldnt find anything I liked. I was hoping for lots of bargains too. I did manage to make quite a mess looking though! I havent been to knitting club since the last time I saw you there, Im still going to toning on Mondays and Wednesdays so I cant make it. Is the Brum Stitch & Bitch the one at the Library on a Saturday? Let me know if you decide to go – if I can make it I’ll pop along too. Happy New Year! x

  3. Hi Karen, I’m going to try and get to the Birmingham Stitch and Bitch, probably not until February as I’m busy with school at the moment. If I go I will let you know!

  4. yarnismycrack Says:

    I love the Ribbon Twist hat! I love that yarn. It’s the yarn that I want to buy that’s been discontinued that I need to afford. What colorway is that? It’s beautiful. I am also a huge fan of Rowan patterns, though I notice most of their hats are knit on straights instead of DPNs or 2 circulars and I wonder why.

    Also, that Colinette hat looks luscious!


Leave a Reply

