Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

A bit of unpacking and a bit of knitting November 3, 2007

wendy-fusion-scarf.jpgribbon-twist-poncho.jpgshaftesbury-back.jpgstitch-pattern-shaftesbury.jpg

Its been a while since I’ve blogged, mostly because I’ve moved house and am still trying to unpack. The move went well as I had half term to sort myself out, but now I’m back at school and its a really busy term now up to Christmas. We had a Halloween disco yesterday which was a lot of fun but very tiring, the kids were all in fancy dress! I might be going out to a bonfire night tonight which I’m excited about because it gives me the excuse to go out and buy wellies and also wear my new scarf (pictured above). Its in Wendy Fusion and the colours are amazing! I got the yarn at the Knitting show and knitted it up last night on 10mm needles, quick and easy!

Talking of quick and easy I’ve also mad a poncho from the Rowan Ribbon Twist book, I think the design is called ‘eva’ but I can’t find the pattern book to check! I’ve had the wool knocking about in my stash for ages but I didn’t know what to do with it. I fell out of love with Ribbon Twist as a year ago I made ‘willow’ from the book, but I found the wool knits up too chunky and makes me look really fat! so it got frogged I’m afraid. I actually have the same dilema with a Colinette Point 5 cardi I made last year, I love the colour and the wool but I look like a big hairy monster from Sesame Street when I wear it! I’m only 5ft 1in and big chunky knits seem to swamp me…… so I might just have to be brave and frog that too (the wool was expensive and I do want to use it somehow)

Anyway, also pictured is Noro ‘Shaftesbury’ from Noro Unlimited book, but I’m using Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran instead of the Noro yarn. So far so good, I’ve finished the back and I love the stitch pattern. The wool is lovely and soft, I think that although it is the same guage as the Noro cash Iroha the Debbie Bliss yarn is more soft and drapey so it looks like the finished top will be longer in the body. I don’t think this will be a problem though, it will just cover up more of my bum which is never a bad thing!

My school knitting club is going from strength to strength. I had my two ‘star pupils’ increasing and decreasing and also trying out k2 p2 rib. They are now working on a scarf, I have given them a simple pattern to read and they are doing the whole thing independently! (I’m so proud!)

 

Leave a Reply

