Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

Noro ‘Tithe’ Finished October 6, 2007

tithe-colours.JPGtithe-front.JPGtithe-back.JPG

Here is ‘Tithe’ , all blocked and sewn together. The first picture is a better representation of the colours, they are really vivid and I love the contrast between the dark purples and the vivid greens. Its a very warm wool so i don’t think I will be wearing it for a few weeks yet. I’m a little dissapointed with the final shape, the picture in the ‘Noro Unlimited’ book show it to be very drapey and the fabric looks quite light, but mine is a lot thicker and hangs quite stiffly. This may be because of the way I blocked it though. The fronts are hanging in two ‘lapels’ which I’m not keen on, but I have found that I can wear the cardi tied up with a chunky brooch and it looks a lot better this way.

I’ve got three balls of Noro Silver thaw left over, I think it might make a nice hat or scarf, maybe even a snood (I’ve been meaning to make a snood for months!…. so 80’s!)

I’ve just started ‘Shaftesbury’ from the Noro Unlimited book, but I’m using Debbie Bliss Cashmerino aran because the Noro wool is just too expensive. The cashmerino knits to the same tension and is very soft to work with. I’ve gone for a green again (very much like the green asrakhan I used in my unstructured coat!) I can’t get enough of green.

Its been a busy week at work, I’m looking forward to half term, although I’m moving house then so its hardly going to be a break! I’ve also been having a coeliac-related sulk this week; virtually every day this week I have been faced with people offereing me food I can’t eat, and then I’ve had to sit and watch others eat it. Take your gluten-filled food out of my face and go stick it!!! (sorry, rant over!)

 

5 Responses to “Noro ‘Tithe’ Finished”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Hey,
    When i moved home i used moveme.com to help me. Its free, and gives you pre made change of address letters, removals discoubts etc. Really helped! Moving can be so stressful 😦

  2. Kazza Says:

    Tithe looks lovely, I love the colours. Shaftesbury is on my to do list, I havent started it yet because again like you I think the Noro is just too expensive, so let me know how you get on with the Debbie Bliss.

  3. Niamh Says:

    Hi. How did tithe come out size wise? Are the measurements in the pattern correct? Thanks x

  4. I would say the measurements are pretty accurate, it fits me well. I did lengthen the sleeves as they were quite short. The only issue I have with the garment is that the lapels hang quite stiffly and don’t drape as they appear to do in the pattern photo.

  5. Claire Says:

    Your tithe looks lovely. I am worlinhg on mine at the moment and having trouble with the fronts. Are there any mistakes in the pattern? I cannot see how I can end up with 72 stitches at the end of the front shaping.


Leave a Reply

