Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

Moving on September 29, 2007

blocked-back-1.JPGblocked-back.JPG

I’ve had a bt of a manic week, I’ve only been teaching for two days as I’ve been out on courses the rest of the time. I’m in charge of getting our Primary school ‘Healthy School’s Status’ which involves a lot of work for me for the next few months. I was on a healthy school’s seminar yesterday at a golf club, it was a lot of fun as i did a course on teaching yoga to kids, the instructor had us prancing about like various animals in the middle of a conference suite! The only drawback was that it was a fully catered for event and the food looked delicious – but I sat there with my sad looking gluten free marmite sandwich and watched everyone eat scones, pizza, brushetta, pasta salads and lasagne. Just my luck to have an illness that prevents you from eating cake! (‘proper’ cake anyway!)

Anyway, I’ve had a bit of help with money from my dad and I’m going to be moving in with Tim at the end of October – which I’m really pleased about. The flat is a bit dated (as it rented we can’t change the decor!) but its big, and very near town. There will be loads of space for me to put my knitting stash and equipment which is great, at the moment I’ve got all of my belongings in one room so it will be good to be able to spead my things all over the flat!!

As you can see, I’ve finished the back and fronts of ‘Tithe’ which are blocking nicely at home. I decided to wet block them as the pieces were quite curled up at the edges, I’ve not got a blocking board but it seems to work just as well by pinning the pieces onto a towel on the floor. I’ve finihed one sleeve and am halfway done on the other so it won’t be long until this is a finished garment!….. and just in time too as its started getting cold again and I really don’t like being cold! I think my next project will be some fingerless gloves from the book ‘One Skein’ (they are a bit like the ‘fetchings’ on knitty.com. Tim also wants a Hogwarts scarf in Griffindor colours, I’ve bought a Griffindor house embroidered patch but he promised he would pay for the yarn! I think I’m going to use the Cascade yarn reccomended in the pattern (I will be using the 3rd/4th year scarf pattern from ‘Charmed Knits)

I’m also really excited as I’m going to the Knitting and Stitch show at the Ally Pally in London. I’m going on the saturday and taking my mum with me! I had hoped to go to the NEC as its so close to me flat, but I was busy that weekend. My mum is just getting back into knitting again after not knitting for about 13 years! I started her off again last summer when I was doing some knitting on holiday and she kept asking to do a few rows. This summer she made a couple of cardis and after seeing my stash I think she is really enthusiastic again about knitting. I’ve not been to the show at the Ally Pally before and I’ve heard its good so I’m saving my pennies already, I’ve got a few things in mind that I want but I guess I will see what is there on the day.

I’ve been taking part in the ‘Angel Yarns’ secret santa swap this month, I posted my parcel to my secret pal recently so I’m waiting to see what they think of their gift (I was a bit miffed though because to send the parcel by recorded delivery you have to write your name and address on the back – hardly ‘secret’!) I’m still waiting patiently for my gift, I’ve got no idea what I’ll get but any present is good!!!

I started my school knitting club again last week, I’ve got three ‘newbies’ who are complete beginners. Two boys aged 8 and a girl aged 9, they did quite well but needed a lot of help! Ive got about 8 other girls who came last year and are of varying ability. Its lovely to see the things they have made in the summer and the fact that they are still enthusiastic about knitting. Especially nice is that fact that none of them could knit a stitch before they came to my club, and now they are working quite independently on various different projects!

 

One Response to “Moving on”

  1. Knittingnanny Says:

    Your secret pal adores her gifts!!

    Good luck with the move – I hope you keep the knitting handy when you go, or you won’t be able to find it!!

    Linda


Leave a Reply

