Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

Coeliac Diagnosis – Finally! June 29, 2007

Filed under: coeliac,coeliac disease,endoscopy,gastroscopy,gluten free,health — sleepknitting @ 8:52 pm

Well, not much to report on the knitting front, I’ve been too busy sorting out the redundancy situation at work and dealing with my latest news.

I went to my GP yesterday who told me that I have Coeliac Disease – despite the fact that I called last week and the stupid woman in reception told me that my test results were negative! Apparently my intestinal biopsy results only arrived on Monday, so who knows where the daft receptionist got her information from!

But anyway, I have medically confirmed Coeliac disease, and I’m actually relieved about it because now I know what is wrong with me I can actually do something about it. I have been ill for so long and I knew that what I’ve been going through is not normal. So I’ve got to get my prescription for non-gluten food sorted out this weekend, I’ve got to buy a breadmaker and get some books to help me! I’m gutted that I won’t be able to eat my favourite foods again, but I will generally be healthier so I can’t really grumble.

 I’m a bit stressed at the moment with the diagnosis, the possible redundancy situation at work and with my freind’s recent sad news – and that has set off my TMJ problem (jaw pain problem) my stupid jaw keeps seizing up and aches when I move it!

If I was a horse I would have been sent to the glue factory by now!

 

7 Responses to “Coeliac Diagnosis – Finally!”

  1. tana Says:

    I can relate to you on so many levels. The horse thing? Yeah, me too.

  2. harmonious1 Says:

    I feel for you. I have been gluten free for about a year now. Never felt better. I had TMJ problems too. It went away when I started taking fairly large doses of magnesium daily. (I started on epsom salts, (drinking and soaking), and switched to Nature Calm, or something like that.) I had to build up slowly though, because it made me wee bowels a mite loosey-goosey. When I don’t take it for a while my jaw seizes up, then it goes in my neck and then -HELLO migraines! and I have to go back to the chiropractor again. Hope you feel better soon. Stay on the diet and don’t despair. There is A LOT of GREAT stuff to EAT!!!YAY!!!

  3. julie Says:

    I make gluten free bread for my little boy in a breadmaker and it’s so much nicer than the stuff you can buy ready made. there are some really good gluten free products around these days – even muffins! It’s a bummer that you have this but better to have found out and have the option to do something about it – good luck with your diet research.

  4. I’ve just bought a Panasonic SD255 breakmaker, off to the healthfood shop today to buy some breadmix – can’t wait to try it out! In one sense I’m releieved that I now know what has been wrong with me all these years and hopefully now I’m gluten-free I will start to feel better. But on the other hand I am beginning to see the restrictions and changes that I have to make to my diet and it’s impact on my social life!

  5. dianne Says:

    Its not so bad Claire! You will quickly learn what you can eat and what you cant eat! Then your life will sort itself out after you’ve said goodbye to all the digestive issues that a gluten free diet will sort out

    🙂

  6. Gina Says:

    Hello – love your blog!

    Just wanted to ask about your jaw problem and I did notice that someone else had had bowel probs and jaw probs – related? I have just undergone tests re bowel probs and also have a problem with my jaw seizing up. What does TMJ stand for?

    Thank you
    Gina

  7. TMJ stands for Temporal Mandibular Joint (which is your jaw joint) Its a condition where your jaw joint can be painful to open and close, it can feel like its frozen sometimes and I often get crunchy grinding sounds in my jaw – ouch! It flares up when I’m stressed but I don’t know if it is linked to my Coeliac disease.


Leave a Reply

