Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

Scary Teddy! May 27, 2007

teddy-monster.jpg

Here is a scary little fellow! this is what I’m going to get my school knitting club to make when they improve a bit! my class have named him ‘sparky’. The club is going well, I have several children that want to join but sadly I don’t have any places left in the club, I’m also running a lunchtime club to fit everyone in! Two of the girls have really got the hang of it and have already learnt to cast on/off and basic garter stitch – I’m going to teach them to purl after half term! I’m really proud of them, they have already made a headband and a bag each.

A few of the kids are a lot more interested in turning up to the club just to sit and chat! its turned into a primary school stitch and bitch! Not all of them have grasped knitting first time – One girl produced her knitting to show me what she had done in the week; she started originally with 10 stitches that I cast on for her, she had managed to increase that to 197 stitches in  the most knotted, twisted shape I had ever seen! We had a good giggle at it as when I took it off the needles it resembled a santa beard! needless to say she started again.

Anyway, its half term and I’m supposed to be writing my reports. I’ve not even started, I’m much more keen to make a start on my Twilleys Freedom Spirit Chevron Jacket which I have started the tenson swatch for. Kazza (http://kazzastuff.blogspot.com/ ) and I are having a knitalong (which I’ve listed on Angel Yarns for anyone interested in joining!) I’ve also finished the baby jumper, I just need some buttons then I will get a photo uploaded.

I’m a bit nervous as I’ve got an appointment for my gastroscopy on wednesday, my mum is going to come with me! I’m not looking forward to it as I’ve never been to hospital before, but it will be good to get the results. I’ve been back and forth from GP to Gastroenterologist in the last few months and it will be good to have a conclusive diagnosis. If I do have Coeliac Disease I will have to really adjust my diet and lifestlyle in a major way – and it just dawned on my yesterday that if I do have the disease that I will never be allowed to eat Maltesers ever again for the rest of my life! HELP!

 

4 Responses to “Scary Teddy!”

  1. Kazza Says:

    Helloooo!! So glad you are about to start the cardi – Ive been dying to start mine, I can get it going now! I hope everything goes well for you at the hospital on Wednesday, let me know how you get on.

  2. Tee hee – sorry for the delay but I HAD to finish the baby jumper! have just worked the bottom edging of the back piece and its a lovely pattern, only made one minor mistake so far!
    My tension swatch was to tight so Im working on needles 0.5mm more than stated in the pattern.

    Let me know how you get on with it anyway!

  3. Tana Says:

    Ooooo, scary indeed! That’s cute actually. I hope your doctor’s appointment goes well.

  4. Celia Says:

    Oh my god, I love him! I’d love to make one of these for my friend’s little boy – except I haven’t knitted since 1989 and forget how. Thanks for posting this little fella!


Leave a Reply

