Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

School Knitting Club May 9, 2007

Filed under: knitting,socks,teaching — sleepknitting @ 4:54 pm

I had my first school knitting club after school today for 12 children aged 7-10. Phew! it was hard word, some of them seemed to get it but others lost their temper after their first attempt! I expailed how I found it hard when i first learned and how it was like riding a bike without stabilisers! I think about half will drop out leaving me with about 5 or 6 who have the determination to practise! I’m going to have to get some dinner first before I tackle my knitting. It really reminded me of how difficult and awkward knitting seemed when I was learning!

 I am really making progress on my Debbie Bliss cashmerino astrakhan jacket (pictures soon to follow!) – half way through the back piece and then we are nearly there! I can’t wait to finish so I can get started on the baby jumper! 

 

6 Responses to “School Knitting Club”

  1. elanknits Says:

    I do knit club every year & find it’s normal to lose half after the first meeting. You lose all those who thought it would be easy & those who thought it would be fast.

  2. Yes, there a few of those! several children have come up to me and said they really enjoyed it and they have asked their gran / mum to help them at home too so I’m pleased! We have started with making very simple stretchy headbands!

  3. Leah Says:

    How cool that you are doing that! I can’t wait to hear more about it!

  4. Kazza Says:

    Hiya Claire! I wish we’d have had a knitting club when I was at school, Id have loved that. Hope it continues to go well. Just thought Id let you know Im definitely going to knitting club on Wednesday, hope to see you there.

  5. Roo Says:

    What a fab idea! Talking of knitting groups, I organise a Knitting evening in Birmingham city centre on the last Tuesday of the month. There are about 6 of us at the moment who meet in the Shakespeare pub just off New Street. Let me know if you’d like more details.

  6. Vicky Says:

    I hope that the knitting club goes well over the coming weeks. I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve tagged you for the “8 random things” game. You have to list 8 random things about yourself, then tag another 8 people to do the same.


Leave a Reply

