Sleep Knitting

Knitting, sleeping (whenever I Can), Living with Coeliac Disease, Teaching and planning a wedding!

Summer Term Blues April 17, 2007

Last day of the Easter holidays today, its back to school tomorrow, its a teacher training day though so at least I don’t have to teach until Thursday! I always feel like this after Easter, Christmas and Summer holidays – I feel like I’ve forgotten how to teach! It usually takes me a couple of days to get back into my ‘teacher’ mode, and it takes about two weeks to get back into my term time sleep pattern!

You see, I have a problem with sleep – I just can’t get enough of it! I am ALWAYS tired and can fall asleep in about 3 minutes given the opportunity! In the holidays I get the 9+ hours a night I need and everyone comments on how well I look; then in the term time I walk about in a daze and I keep getting ill!

However, having looked into Coeliac disease in more detail since my positive blood test it seems that tiredness and low immune system could all be symptoms of the disease. I’ve not received an appointment for the gastroscopy I’ve got to have done, I will know for certain if I am a Coeliac after the biopsy is done. If I get diagnosed then I have to see a dietitian and hopefully will be prescribed gluten free food. One of my friends has baked me some chocolate cup cakes made from gluten free flour and they are not too bad at all, so all is not lost! (bless her!)

 On the knitting front I’ve made some progress with the Debbie Bliss coat (about flippin’ time too!) Two sleeves done and just the back piece, collar and making up to complete. I have been very busy with school planning and preparation for the coming term.

I’ve also been preparing for my school knitting club that I will hopefully be starting in a couple of weeks time, I’ve got some decent kids needles and some nice DK wool for starters. I thought I would start with teachin them the very basics of cast on and garter stitch then make a headband (most of the girls at my school seem to wear those stretchy alice bands) then move onto a teddy or simple bag. If it all goes ok I may have a weekly lunch time drop-in knitting club (which gives me the excuse to spend my lunch hour knitting!) Anyway, I may be being far too ambitious! but we will see how it goes, I’m looking forward to it anyway!

 I’m really keen to join a knitting group / stitch and bitch/ knit and natter / whatever you care to call them! but I’m having trouble finding one in my area! I don’t really think I could find many others to start one up either…. I don’t want to be sitting in some cafe knitting on my own like Norma Nomates! Does anyone know of a group in the Solihull / South Birmingham area?

 

Leave a Reply

